3 Week Cleanse – Day 9

Well, Nic and I made it through week 1 and are now on to week 2. It was a challenge though. We were very weak at the beginning and it made exercising difficult. I went for a bike ride and had to stop and rest a lot. I usually never stop along the way, but my body was just not wanting to move. By the end of the week, we were both feeling back to normal. I think our bodies were just in shock without all of the sugar, caffeine and carbs. I was hungry a lot for the first few days. I was snacking on everything that I could. It is funny how my body adapted to the cleanse though, because by day 4, I was full from eating just an apple. One night, I came home late from work and ate some sauteed green beans and I was so full that I couldn’t even finish them. I feel like before this cleanse, I would have been able to eat 3 times that before I was full. Maybe my stomach is shrinking.

I have learned to eat things without all of my dips and dressings! Which is one thing that I really wanted to get out of this cleanse. I am in love with dipping things in ranch and mayonnaise, and covering my salads with cheese and dressings. I started making my own salad dressings and made a delicious tahini dip for my sweet potato fries.  I also made my own ketchup from a recipe that I found online.

I have also lost about 5 pounds. Not sure if it will stay off, but for now, I feel great!

Everyone keeps asking me, “What are you eating?” Well, we usually started the day off with a smoothie. I picked and froze a ton of blackberries and raspberries this year. We also have a lot of strawberries, blueberries and peaches from the farmer’s market. So we would just mix a variety of fruit with coconut milk or sugar-free juice in a blender. We would sweeten it with agave or honey. I think that the agave blends better. My favorite smoothie was with frozen mango, fresh peaches, coconut milk and a little bit of agave. We also tried out our new juicer. I loved a beet, pear and apple blend.

For lunch, I would bring leftovers from dinner to work. That is what I did before the cleanse too. I also brought a salad with homemade vinaigrette and sunflower seeds one day.

For dinners, we had to be creative. We ate a lot of roasted veggies, including carrots, corn, zucchini, squash, peppers, sweet potato fries, and beets. I made a beetroot soup with roasted beets, tomatoes and other vegetables that I processed in a blender. We sauteed green beans, eggplant and peppers one night and wrapped them up in a sprouted corn tortilla. I found the tortillas at our co-op and was very excited because they were grain-free, gluten-free and basically consisted of sprouted corn, lime and water.

For one of our dinners, we made this great dish that I called Mexican Sweet Potato Boats:

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup of cooked corn off the cob
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 to 1/2 onion
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 red pepper
  • juice of one lime
  • spices (cumin, garlic, salt, cayenne pepper)

Preset oven to 375. Poke sweet potatoes with a fork a couple times and microwave for 4-5 minutes until they are tender but not mushy. Wait for the potatoes to cool down and then cut them in half, long ways. Scoop out the insides of the potatoes with a spoon, leaving 1/4″ around the edges. I saved the insides and made some yummy mashed potatoes from it and ate those while cooking :)

Chop up the peppers, onion, tomato and avocado into small pieces. Add them in a bowl with the remaining ingredients and toss well. Then fill the potatoes and put on a baking pan and bake until the edges of the potatoes start to brown (around 25 minutes)

Nic and I devoured these sweet potato boats. As we were eating them, we keep saying “these would be so good with cheese and sour cream!” . They were great as is though.

Snacks were the most important part of week one, because that is what kept us from passing out from hunger! I made kale chips from my garden. We also munched on applesauce, apples with peanut butter and creamed honey, carrots, pistachios, raisins and other fruits and veggies.

I am really glad that we are doing this cleanse, because now that it is Day 9, and I am onto the next step of adding beans, tofu, fish and lentils; this isn’t very hard at all. It is becoming natural for us. I must admit that the hardest part of this is not being able to eat sugar and gluten. Working at the restaurant this weekend was really rough. Especially seeing all of the leftover wedding cakes from the events that I worked…..I saved 2 brownies from an event and put them in the freezer for Nic and I when this is over. ;)

Leave a Reply

