Recycled Plastic Bag Tote

I had this grand idea of what to do with all of the old plastic bags that I had stuffed under my kitchen sink for the past few years. I had seen things before where people cut up and crochet old T-shirts and material to make useful accessories. So I took that idea and used it with plastic.

First I cut the bags into 1-1/2″ strips. This is the hardest part of the project. I tried many different ways and found that cutting it into a spiral is the most efficient way. I started by flattening the bag and cutting off the handles and the seam at the bottom. This made the bag into a big tube. Then, I just started cutting on one edge until I spiraled up to the other edge. (Sorry I didn’t take pictures)

After all of the bags were cut (I used about 35-40!), I tied them together so that they made a continuous strand of “yarn”. Then I started crocheting the bag. I just did a simple double crochet in a hat pattern, and kept going until it was the length that I wanted. I am sure that you could use many different stitches and designs. The finished bag is pretty stiff right now, but I think that it will stretch out nicely and turn into a good shape.

Kind of a cool way to use up those old shopping bags!

Leave a Reply

