Pickled Jalapenos and a very painful experience…

I consider myself a fairly intelligent person. But a couple weeks ago, when I made a huge batch of pickled jalapenos……I seriously questioned my IQ.

I love spicy food and to me, there is nothing better than topping some nachos or burritos with pickled jalapenos. I usually buy them in a jar. After turning a jar around and looking at the ingredients, I realized how I just need to make my own. They are so simple. I picked up 4 lbs of fresh jalapenos from my local farmer’s market. Then I chopped away at them for about ten minutes, making perfect little pepper rings. It was at that point that my fingers started to tingle. I kept chopping and stuffing the peppers into canning jars. After I was done, my fingers REALLY started to hurt. I mean, under-the-fingernail-down-to-the-bone pain. It felt like someone had poured boiling water over my hands. They were even starting to blister. Why in the ^&%$ did I not wear gloves?!

I was at least smart enough to not touch my face or eyes. I have heard horror stories about people removing contacts after touching peppers… I don’t even want to think about it. Nic and I were frantically looking up remedies on Google for the burns. I think he was just helping me so I would shut up and stop screaming “Help! My finger bones are on fire!”. I put them in ice water, milk, and even soaked them in ice cold Bacardi. Nothing worked. I lie in bed all night, wide awake with my hands wrapped in ice packs.

Moral of the story: Always wear gloves when cutting hot peppers. Don’t be an idiot like me.

Anyways, here is the recipe. The pickled jalapenos turned out great:

Pickled Jalapenos:

  • 4 lb of jalapenos
  • 3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3 cup water
  • 4 Tbsp pickling salt
  • 1 head of garlic, minced

Start by boiling your jars to sanitize them and allowing them to cool.

Then (while wearing GLOVES), cut the peppers into rings and stuff them into the jars. I kept all of my seeds in them. If you want them less spicy, don’t put seeds in. Then I divided up the garlic into the jars.

Meanwhile, bring water, vinegar and salt to a boil. Pour hot liquid over the peppers in the jars. Leave 1/2″ space at the top. Put the lids on the jars and boil the jars in a water bath for 10 minutes. Making sure there is 1″ of water above the jars. 

I opened the jars after 2 weeks and they were perfect. You can store the sealed jars in the pantry.

4 thoughts on “Pickled Jalapenos and a very painful experience…

  1. I did the same things last week. I tried everything to get the smell, heat, and burn of my hands. I tried milk, sugar milk, washing with industrial hand soap, washing multiple times, and then I tried tomato juice… the tomato juice helped the best so if they still burn try it. I have contacts too and burned my eyes for a day until someone told me about the tomato juice. I feel your pain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

