‘Fried’ Green Tomatoes

My friend came over with her kids (ages 2 and 7) last night and I had them pick all of my tomatoes for me. They loved it. So did I, because there were a lot of tomatoes! I think tomato season is done up here in the Upper Peninsula. We have been getting highs of 50-60 each day and lows of 35-45 each night. The tomatoes are just not getting ripe on the vine. I have a ton of green tomatoes now. I will try and ripen them under a blanket in the basement and see what happens. I was also told to add some apples in with them because they help the tomatoes ripen and keep them from rotting. I chopped all of my basil last night too and made pesto. Basil is another plant that needs heat to flourish.

In the meantime, I have been reading Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. The cooler weather has me reading a lot more. I read 1-2 books a month because I am in a book club, but now I will get back to 3-4 a month. I have seen the movie Fried Green Tomatoes years ago. It was one of my favorites as a kid and my Mom used to watch it with me. The movie actually follows the book pretty well. It is hard to read a book after seeing the movie sometimes because you have ideas in your head of what the characters look like, act like, etc. But this one was surprisingly not that hard to read. I still have images of what the people look like, but the characteristics of the actors and the book characters are actually similar. I am picking up on things that I didn’t when I saw the movie. That is probably because I was a kid when I saw it and I wasn’t mature enough to understand some things. I won’t give it away though 🙂

The book has inspired me to make some Fried Green Tomatoes! I made the recipe up myself and baked it instead of frying. Frying is just too messy and time consuming.

Fried (Baked) Green Tomatoes:

  • 4-5 green tomatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk (I used almond milk because it needed to be used up)
  • 1 1/2 -2 cups flour
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 cup corn meal
  • seasoning (paprika, season salt, chili powder)
  • chopped parsley

Preheat oven to 350. Spray or grease a baking sheet.

Get 3 bowls out. Bowl 1: flour and seasoning. Bowl 2: eggs and milk, whisked together. Bowl 3: corn meal, bread crumbs and parsley.

Slice tomatoes into 1/8-1/4″ slices, like you would for a sandwich. Dip the tomatoes in the flour mixture, egg mixture and breading mixture (in that order). Place them on the baking sheet and bake for 40-45 minutes, flipping them about half way through. 

Serve with your favorite dip or on a sandwich.

Also, we went out to Little Presque Isle today because it was so gorgeous out. Colors are at their peak right now.

2 thoughts on “‘Fried’ Green Tomatoes

    • Yes, that is the chemical in apples that helps them ripen too! over half of my green tomatoes have ripened so far. Success!

Leave a Reply

